Let’s talk.

I’m tired. I don’t want to rant today; just maybe talk, just a little.
Just maybe share a joke, laugh, just a little.
Tell me about your day, let’s share little snippets of our lives.
Only if you’d like to, of course.
It’s fading away, unfortunately.
I don’t know how much time we have.
Martyr? I don’t have the confidence to be.
Hero? I’m too much of a coward.
When I met you, I was trying on a new suit.
When she sold it to me, she said you’d be invincible.
Like they’d do for a spell, I peddled away my ‘self’ for it.
And then there arrived you.
I thought you were just how she described you.
Just as arrogant as he said you were.
Just as cold as she said you’d feel.
Just as distant as they seemed to agree.
But you made me laugh,
I soon learnt it wasn’t an anomaly.
But you were so selfless,
not just once but every single time.

Why do you feel so safe?
It scares me.
Sometimes I want to believe them.
Why do the shards of my rusted heart magnetically unite when they see your face?
I’m petrified. I’m confused. I am free.
I don’t want to rant today; just maybe talk, just a little.

Leave a Reply

